Home Page

Parent Information

Foundations Stage 1 & 2


In Foundation Stage, we believe that children should get the best start in school life. This is why we strive to provide your child with the best learning experience and opportunities so they can fulfil their potential.

The curriculum in Foundation Stage has seven areas:-

  • Three prime areas:
    • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
    • Communication and Language
    • Physical Development
  • Four Specific Areas:
    • Literacy
    • Mathematics
    • Understanding of the World
    • Expressive Arts and Design

The three prime areas are the most important as these are the skills that build the foundation for their learning.


Learning through play is a key element throughout Foundation Stage and this gives children the opportunity to continue their learning independently through the provision activities.  All of the elements of the curriculum are covered throughout the day through these independent activities, through phonic, maths and literacy carpet sessions and through adult focus groups.

30 Hours Information Sheet

Keeping Under Fives Safe Online

Here is a booklet about the first 5 years of your child's development and learning. The first 5 years are divided up into six age bands which overlap. This is because every child is different and children do not grow and develop at the same rate. This booklet shows what your child might be doing at these points. It also provides tips as how you can help your child's learning and development at home. Any questions just come and see me. Thank you Mrs Coy-Burrows

Hodthorpe Primary School, Queen's Road, Hodthorpe, Worksop, Derbyshire S80 4UT